86 countries that have removed all Covid travel restrictions

This article may contain affiliate links
18th September 2022
An island in Greece, one of the countries that have removed all covid travel restrictions 

We take a look at the countries that have removed all Covid travel restrictions, with many entry requirements now back to normal

Across the globe, Covid travel restrictions are being scrapped, with many nations now completely free from the temporary entry conditions that were put in place during the pandemic.

The current list of 86 countries (as of October 2022) includes 39 European nations that are entirely free from travel restrictions regardless of vaccination status.

However, testing does still remain in place, particularly for several long-haul destinations and in some countries, unvaccinated or unboosted people are banned from entering.

Other countries, including some European nations, still have facemask rules in place and Covid passports are occasionally still being used.

In Europe, Spain and Luxembourg finally dropped all remaining travel restrictions, leaving only Slovakia and Kosovo with entry restrictions still in place.

Portugal's coastline
Shutterstock Portugal has removed all Covid travel restrictions

While nearly half of the world’s nations have removed restrictions, many popular global destinations still have requirements in place. In several countries, including the Philippines and the US, only vaccinated/boosted travellers are allowed entry. While a further 21 countries, which include Brazil, India and Sri Lanka, still require tests for unvaccinated travellers.

Equatorial Guinea, Micronesia. Qatar, Taiwan and Venezuela still require tests for all travellers. China, Nauru and Turkmenistan remain closed entirely.

European countries that have removed all Covid travel restrictions 

The following European countries have no entry restrictions regardless of vaccination status. Several nations (marked with an asterisk) may still require travellers to wear face masks on flights, on public transport or in certain locations such as indoor venues or pharmacies. Check the advice from your country’s foreign office.

  1. Albania
  2. Austria*
  3. Belgium
  4. Bulgaria
  5. Bosnia and Herzegovina
  6. Croatia
  7. Cyprus*
  8. Czech Republic
  9. Denmark
  10. Estonia
  11. Finland
  12. France*
  13. Germany*
  14. Greece*
  15. Hungary
  16. Iceland
  17. Ireland
  18. Italy*
  19. Latvia
  20. Liechtenstein
  21. Lithuania
  22. Luxembourg
  23. Malta
  24. Moldova
  25. Montenegro*
  26. Netherlands
  27. North Macedonia*
  28. Norway*
  29. Poland
  30. Portugal
  31. Romania
  32. San Marino
  33. Serbia
  34. Slovenia
  35. Spain
  36. Sweden
  37. Switzerland
  38. Turkey
  39. UK
A bay in Antigua & Barbuda
Sean Pavone/Shutterstock Antigua & Barbuda has removed restrictions

rest of the world

The following countries have no entry restrictions. However, several (marked with an asterisk) may still require travellers to wear facemasks in certain circumstances, show vaccine passports, be screened for symptoms at the airport or complete a medical declaration form.

  1. Antigua and Barbuda
  2. Argentina
  3. Armenia
  4. Aruba
  5. Australia
  6. The Bahamas
  7. Bahrain
  8. Barbados
  9. Cambodia
  10. Canada
  11. Chile*
  12. Costa Rica
  13. Cuba
  14. Curacao
  15. Dominica
  16. Dominican Republic*
  17. Ecuador
  18. Egypt
  19. El Salvador
  20. Georgia
  21. Grenada
  22. Guatemala
  23. Israel
  24. Jamaica
  25. Jordan*
  26. Kazakhstan
  27. Kuwait
  28. Kyrgyzstan
  29. Madagascar
  30. Malaysia*
  31. Maldives
  32. Mauritius
  33. Mexico
  34. Mongolia*
  35. Morocco*
  36. Namibia
  37. New Zealand*
  38. Nicaragua
  39. Oman
  40. Rwanda
  41. Saudi Arabia
  42. South Africa
  43. South Korea*
  44. St Lucia
  45. Thailand
  46. Trinidad and Tobago
  47. Vietnam
  48. Uzbekistan
  49. Yemen
Bangkok in thailand
SOUTHERNTraveler/Shutterstock Thailand has removed restrictions

Only vaccinated/boosted travellers allowed entry

  1. Cook Islands
  2. Equatorial Guinea (plus testing and quarantine)
  3. Fiji
  4. Ghana
  5. Hong Kong
  6. Iran
  7. Liberia
  8. Marshall Islands
  9. Micronesia
  10. Niue
  11. Palau
  12. Philippines
  13. Pitcairn
  14. Puerto Rico
  15. Tokelau
  16. Tonga
  17. Turks and Caicos Islands
  18. US

Tests required for unvaccinated arrivals

  1. Botswana
  2. Brazil
  3. Colombia
  4. Dominica
  5. India
  6. Indonesia
  7. Japan
  8. Kenya
  9. Laos
  10. Myanmar
  11. Paraguay
  12. Peru
  13. Seychelles
  14. Singapore
  15. Sri Lanka
  16. Tanzania
  17. Tunisia
  18. Uganda
  19. UAE
  20. Uruguay
  21. Zimbabwe
Rio de Janeiro in brazil
Dreamstime Brazil still requires tests for unvaccinated arrivals

tests required for all arrivals

  1. Equatorial Guinea
  2. Micronesia
  3. Qatar
  4. Taiwan
  5. Venezuela

Still closed entirely

  1. China
  2. Nauru
  3. Turkmenistan

More rankings and articles can be found in our remote work area:

► Most dangerous countries in the world
► Countries with the best healthcare in the world
► World’s worst countries to drive in
► Most peaceful countries in the world
► Best countries for women
► Poorest countries in the world – ranked
► Happiest countries (and cities) in the world
► World’s most powerful passport
► Countries with the fastest internet in the world
► Most stressed countries in the world
► Most expensive cities for expats
► World’s most democratic countries

Enjoyed this post? pin it for later…

countries that have removed all covid travel restrictions Pinterest pin

Lead image: LittlePerfectStock/Shutterstock